Create an account

Very important

• To access the important data of the forums, you must be active in each forum and especially in the leaks and database leaks section, send data and after sending the data and activity, data and important content will be opened and visible for you.
  • You will only see chat messages from people who are at or below your level.
  • More than 500,000 database leaks and millions of account leaks are waiting for you, so access and view with more activity.
  • Many important data are inactive and inaccessible for you, so open them with activity. (This will be done automatically)

Thread Rating:
  • 303 Vote(s) - 3.57 Average
How to run a simple ruby script in any web server (Apache or Mongrel or any thing else)

It seems very funny to me that when I search something related ruby, all ruby on rails related results popped up. So nobody using raw ruby anymore?

However, I am new to ruby. This morning I was only trying to run a simple hello world ruby script in web server, firstly apache 2 and then tried the mongrel. But unfortunately I failed. I googled every way I can, but result only shows regarding ruby on rails. So really is there any way to run a ruby script in any web server, or I have to use ror even if I just want to do a hello world application?

#!/usr/bin/env ruby //shebang line to indicate path to ruby.
require 'cgi' //cgi file to create a simple cgi object.
cgi = CGI.new //instantiating a cgi object.
puts cgi.header //thats telling the server about the type(html).
puts "hello" // thats the output on the browser.

Ruby 1.9.2+ simple command.

ruby -run -e httpd . -p 5000

from this article

[To see links please register here]

other article

Run this from your app root.

ruby -r webrick -e "s = WEBrick::HTTPServer.new(:Port => 8000, :DocumentRoot => Dir.pwd); trap('INT') { s.shutdown }; s.start"

I've heard mod_ruby is good. Unlike, `#!/path/to/your/ruby`, mod_ruby won't spawn a new ruby interpreter.