Create an account

Very important

• To access the important data of the forums, you must be active in each forum and especially in the leaks and database leaks section, send data and after sending the data and activity, data and important content will be opened and visible for you.
  • You will only see chat messages from people who are at or below your level.
  • More than 500,000 database leaks and millions of account leaks are waiting for you, so access and view with more activity.
  • Many important data are inactive and inaccessible for you, so open them with activity. (This will be done automatically)

Thread Rating:
  • 308 Vote(s) - 3.43 Average
Swift class vs Cocoa Touch Class in Xcode6

I am new to iOS development and have started directly with Swift.

When I want to add a new file to a project, the IDE presents me with two files which seem to be used interchangeably in the tutorials that I have seen so far.
They are "Cocoa Touch Class" and "Swift Class".

When I create a new Cocoa Touch Class, this is what I get(depending on the class inherited)

import UIKit

class CtTest: NSObject {

}

and when I create a new Swift file, I get this:-

import Foundation

The extension for both of these classes is .swift

If I add the class definition to the Swift file and modify it as follows:-

import UIKit
import Foundation

class SwTest:NSObject
{
}

is there any difference that remains between the two files.

If so, which classes are preferred in what scenarios eg. View Controllers, Models etc.

Thank You

There is no difference between the two different templates other than the code they put into the file by default. Like you noticed, they both have the same extension and they are both plain text files – the compiler does not treat them any differently.